Sponsoring a Page is a way of supporting The Baseball Cube. Put your name/site/message on your favorite player page!
"Organizing the World
of Baseball Data"
Home >> Teams >> MLB >> Atlanta Braves

Atlanta Braves

+ National League (MLB)
League: National League
Stat Years Available: 1871-2017
Team Location: Atlanta,Georgia

Ballparks:   Turner Field (1997-2016), Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium (1977-1996), Atlanta Stadium (1966-1976), County Stadium (1953-1965), Braves Field (1915-1952), National League Park (1936-1940), Fenway Park (1915-1915), South End Grounds (1903-1914)

Franchise Changes
Awards Voting History | All-Star Game Participation
Trades History | Hit for Cycle | No-Hitters

Organization Affiliates:MLB: Atlanta Braves (MLB-NL)   AAA: Gwinnett Braves (IL)   AA: Mississippi Braves (Sou)   A+: Florida Fire Frogs (FSL)   A: Rome Braves (SAL)   Rk: Danville Braves (App)   Rk: Dominican Braves (DSL)   Rk: Gulf Coast Braves (GCL)  

Affiliate History
Historical Matchup:
  • Some odds and ends categories for Major League Franchises.
  • Note that Managers History may not be complete as it is a work-in-progress to find the start and end dates of Managerial tenures.
  • Retired Numbers
    Hank Aaron44
    Bobby Cox6
    Tom Glavine47
    Chipper Jones10
    Greg Maddux31
    Eddie Mathews41
    Dale Murphy3
    Phil Niekro35
    Jackie Robinson42
    John Smoltz29
    Warren Spahn21
    Major Award Winners
    2011Craig KimbrelNL Rookie of the Year
    2005Bobby CoxNL Mgr of the Year
    2004Bobby CoxNL Mgr of the Year
    2000Rafael FurcalNL Rookie of the Year
    1999Chipper JonesNL MVP
    1998Tom GlavineNL Cy Young
    1996John SmoltzNL Cy Young
    1995Greg MadduxNL Cy Young
    1994Greg MadduxNL Cy Young
    1993Greg MadduxNL Cy Young
    1991Tom GlavineNL Cy Young
    1991Bobby CoxNL Mgr of the Year
    1991Terry PendletonNL MVP
    1990David JusticeNL Rookie of the Year
    1983Dale MurphyNL MVP
    1982Dale MurphyNL MVP
    1978Bob HornerNL Rookie of the Year
    1971Earl WilliamsNL Rookie of the Year
    1957Warren SpahnML Cy Young
    1957Hank AaronNL MVP
    1950Sam JethroeNL Rookie of the Year
    1948Alvin DarkML Rookie of the Year
    1947Bob ElliottNL MVP
    1914Johnny EversNL MVP
    1914Johnny EversNL MVP
    General Managers History
    General ManagerStartEnd
    Alex Anthopoulos2017-11-13Active GM
    John Coppolella2015-10-012017-10-02
    John Hart2014-10-242015-09-30
    John Hart2014-09-222014-10-23
    Frank Wren2007-10-112014-09-21
    John Schuerholz1990-10-102007-10-10
    Bobby Cox1985-10-221990-10-09
    John Mullen1979-05-061985-10-21
    Bill Lucas1976-09-171979-05-05
    Eddie Robinson1972-06-051976-09-16
    Paul Richards1966-08-201972-06-04
    John McHale1966-01-011966-08-19
    Milwaukee Braves
    John McHale1959-01-151965-12-31
    John Quinn1953-01-011959-01-14
    Boston Braves
    John Quinn1950-01-011952-12-31
    Managers History
    *Brian Snitker2006-05-18Active Mgr
    Fredi Gonzalez2010-10-132016-05-17
    Bobby Cox1990-06-232010-10-11
    Russ Nixon1988-05-231990-06-22
    Chuck Tanner1985-10-101988-05-22
    *Bobby Wine1985-08-261985-10-09
    Eddie Haas1984-10-031985-08-25
    Joe Torre1981-10-231984-10-02
    Bobby Cox1977-11-221981-10-08
    Dave Bristol1975-10-091977-10-25
    *Connie Ryan1975-08-301975-10-08
    Clyde King1974-07-221975-08-29
    Eddie Mathews1972-08-071974-07-21
    Lum Harris1967-10-071972-08-06
    Billy Hitchcock1966-08-101967-09-30
    Milwaukee Braves
    Bobby Bragan1962-10-181966-08-09
    Birdie Tebbetts1961-09-031962-10-12
    Chuck Dressen1959-10-231961-09-02
    Fred Haney1956-06-171959-10-05
    Charlie Grimm1953-01-011956-06-16
    Boston Braves
    Charlie Grimm1952-06-011952-12-31
    Tommy Holmes1951-06-201952-05-31
    Billy Southworth1949-10-031951-06-19
    *Johnny Cooney1949-08-161949-10-02
    *Interim Manager
    Year by Year
    YearWLRkAttendancePayrollHighest PaidOpening Day StarterMVP Vote Leader
    2017729032,505,252$ 137,339,527No votes
    2016689352,020,914$ 84,821,541
    2015679542,001,392$ 89,622,648No votes
    2014798322,354,305$ 110,897,341
    2013966612,548,679$ 89,288,193
    2012946822,420,171$ 83,309,942
    2011897322,372,940$ 87,002,692
    2010917122,510,119$ 84,423,667
    2009867632,373,631$ 96,726,166
    2008729042,532,834$ 102,365,683
    2007847832,745,207$ 87,290,833
    2006798332,550,524$ 90,156,876
    2005907212,521,534$ 86,457,302
    2004966612,322,565$ 90,182,500
    20031016112,401,084$ 106,243,667
    20021015912,603,484$ 93,470,367
    2001887412,823,530$ 91,936,166
    2000956713,234,304$ 82,732,500
    19991035913,284,901$ 75,065,000
    19981065613,360,860$ 59,536,000
    19971016113,464,488$ 50,488,500
    1996966612,901,242$ 47,390,000
    1995905412,561,831$ 45,199,000
    1994684622,539,240$ 40,502,167
    19931045813,884,720$ 38,131,000
    1992986413,077,400$ 32,975,333
    1991946812,140,217$ 20,423,500
    199065976980,129$ 13,328,334
    198963976984,930$ 9,551,334
    1988541066848,089$ 9,967,167No votes
    197567945534,672N/ANo votes

    About Us  |  Correct this Page  |  Site Map  |  Data Coverage  |  Support TBC | Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

    Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

    Please Support The Baseball Cube.

    PayPal Me