Page Notes  
This is a full listing of all 1978 MLB Umpires. This will include regular umpires as well as temporary call-ups or replacements. Each umpire has a dedicated profile page with some associated game metrics while home plate umpire.
About the Data:Umpires Data | People Data | Retrosheet Data

Learn more about TBC data and the site in the About TBC section. Also, don't forget to find a way to Support TBC.
Related Data Products:Umpire Metrics | Boxscore - Game Logs

The TBC Data Store allows you to purchase the data you see on the site. The store has standard pre-determined data products as well as the ability to work with us to produce custom data extracts based on your requirements.
Get TBC PREMIUM and remove ads, cleaner display, access to research applications, data store discounts and more!
The TBC Newsletter will keep you periodically up-to-date on what is happening at The Baseball Cube.

MLB Umpire Register for 1978

top csv share Sort PREV | NEXT
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Andy Anderson1978-197912--2--
Larry Barnett1969-19991014940383536-
Nick Bremigan1974-1988514138363433-
Joe Brinkman1972-20067160394138426
Jeff Brown1978-197911--1--
Al Clark1976-2001314638373635-
Curly Clement1978-197911---1-
Nick Colosi1968-198211164414238434
Alan Contant1978-197911-1---
Terry Cooney1974-19925158373940424
Doug Cossey1978-1979111----
Jerry Crawford1976-2010316241384241-
Jim Cuneo1978-197911---1-
Jerry Dale1970-1985916040443739-
Satch Davidson1969-198410161414040404
Bill Deegan1971-1995813336352933-
Shan Deniston1978-197811--1--
Don Denkinger1969-19981016042393841-
Roger Dierking1978-197811-1---
Lou DiMuro1963-198216161404336424
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Joe Driscoll1978-197811--1--
Jim Dunne1978-197911-1---
Larry Edwards1978-197811---1-
Bob Engel1965-19901414837383736-
Jim Evans1971-1999815338393739-
Jerry Fick1978-197911---1-
Dale Ford1975-1999415940403841-
Al Forman1961-1979611----
Wheeler Fowler1978-197812---2-
Bruce Froemming1971-2007815136403738-
Lester Fuchs1978-197911---1-
Rich Garcia1975-19994156393938404
Bob Giard1978-197811-1---
Russ Goetz1968-19831115940403841-
Eric Gregg1976-1999315640373940-
Dave Gustafson1978-197811--1--
Bill Haller1961-198217163414040426
Howard Hansen1978-197911--1--
Doug Harvey1962-19921716042423640-
Ted Hendry1977-199929421262423-
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Johnny James1978-1979121--1-
Ken Kaiser1977-1999216641434141-
Joe Kavulich1978-197911-1---
Wayne Keister1978-197911---1-
John Kibler1963-198916163423942406
Greg Kosc1976-1999316341404042-
Bill Kunkel1968-198411156403839394
Bill Laude1978-197911---1-
Richie Lazar1978-197911--1--
Don Leppert1978-197811--1--
Ron Luciano1969-197910164434240394
Charlie Lupo1978-197911---1-
George Maloney1969-19831016341434039-
Boyd Mauer1978-197911-1---
Larry McCoy1970-1999916141424038-
Jim McKean1974-2001515740403938-
John McSherry1971-19958159403938424
Dave Melton1978-1978111----
Durwood Merrill1976-1999315138383738-
Ed Montague1974-2009415939403842-
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Jerry Neudecker1966-19851316241384142-
Ed Norris1978-197913-2-1-
Jim O'Connor1978-197911-1---
Andy Olsen1968-198011162414239404
Steve Palermo1976-1991315839384140-
Tony Patch1978-1979111----
Dave Phillips1971-20028155394036404
Jerry Phipps1978-197911--1--
Paul Pryor1961-19811815840423838-
Frank Pulli1972-1999773191820166
Jim Quick1974-1998416140404041-
Jim Rains1978-197911-1---
Mike Reilly1977-2010216641414242-
Dutch Rennert1973-1992615940403940-
Bill Robinson1978-1979111----
Bob Roesner1978-1979111----
Roy Roth1978-197911-1---
Hank Rountree1978-1991132-1--
Paul Runge1973-1997615741383840-
Joe Sawchuk1978-1979121--1-
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Cliff Schaller1978-197911--1--
Bob Schroeder1978-197911---1-
Jim Scott1978-1979111----
Mick Sharkey1978-197911-1---
Jim Shewmake1978-197811---1-
Hank Soar1950-19782812-345-
Fred Spenn1977-19912286796-
Bill Sprincz1978-197911-1---
Marty Springstead1966-198513152383837396
Dick Stello1968-19871115340393638-
Murray Strey1978-1979111----
Terry Tata1973-1999616140403942-
Mike Thompson1978-197912-11--
Hank Tillman1978-197911--1--
Les Treitel1978-1979111----
Leo Turner1978-197811---1-
Woody Urchak1978-1979111----
Ed Vargo1960-198319148373538386
Vic Voltaggio1977-1996214939363737-
Harry Wendelstedt1966-19981315940404138-
Umpire NameYears RangeNth SeasonGuHPu1Bu2Bu3BPlayoffs G Count
Joe West1976-2018315938423742-
Lee Weyer1961-198818160414040394
Bill Williams1963-198716155413936394
Charlie Williams1978-2001110224272328-
Dale Williams1978-197911--1--
Jerry Zimmerman1978-197811---1-
Rico Zuccaro1978-197811--1--
107 record(s)
Years Range Range of Years available for the data. For Teams, the years available within the TBC system. Does not insinuate continuity within the range. Missing years are possible G Games Played (or Pitched) uHP Home Plate Umpire (games) u1B 1st Base Umpire (games) u2B 2nd Base Umpire (games) u3B 3rd Base Umpire (games)