Tips Updates
Minor Leagues
Extra Bases

Winter League Player of the YearHistory of Award Winners
Follow TBC on Twitter and Facebook

Alex Rios won this award in 2004
Recent history of winners for Winter League Player of the Year. There is some lag in updating awards data and they may not provide an entire history of winners. The list below is separated by year with a dividing line. Some awards have multiple award winners for all or some years.

Years Available1993-2005

Awards Listing -- Awards Voting History -- Extra Bases Main -- Leagues -- About Awards Data

Major Leaguers are in bold

Historical Winners - Winter League Player of the Year

Top Major Leaguers Active Players Drafted Players 1st Round Draft Picks
YearPlayer NamePosNotesC-AwardsHt Wt B-T BornDate Age Place HiLvlStat YearsMLB YearsDraft InformationCollege(s)StatusCurrent Org (Level)
2005Jonny GomesLF86-1 205 R-R 1980-11-22 24San Francisco,California MLB2001-20162003-2015
2001-18- 529-TBA
Santa Rosa Junior ColInternational  
2004Alex RiosRF116-5 185 R-R 1981-02-18 23Coffee,Alabama MLB1999-20152004-2015
1999- 1-  19-TOR
Free Agent  
2002Ramon HernandezC86-0 227 R-R 1976-05-20 26Caracas,Venezuela MLB1995-20131999-2013
1994-   UDFA-OAK
Free Agent  
2001Courtney DuncanP46-0 180 L-R 1974-10-09 26Mobile,Alabama MLB1994-20052001-2002
1996-20- 592-CHN
Grambling St  
2000Jose CruzRF96-0 200 B-R 1974-04-19 26Arroyo,Puerto Rico MLB1995-20081997-2008
1995- 1-   3-SEA
Rice U.  
1999Bobby AbreuLF146-0 197 L-R 1974-03-11 25Aragua,Venezuela MLB1991-20141996-2014
1990-   UDFA-HOU
1997Bartolo ColonP256-0 230 R-R 1973-05-24 24Altamira,Dom Rep MLB1994-20181997-2018
1993-   UDFA-CLE
Free Agent  
1995Carlos Delgado1B306-3 225 L-R 1972-06-25 23Aguadilla,Puerto Rico MLB1989-20101993-2009
1988-   UDFA-TOR
1994John HudekP26-1 205 B-R 1966-08-08 27Tampa,Florida MLB1988-19991994-1999
1988-10- 249-CHA
Florida So.Col  
1993Matias CarrilloOF25-11 190 L-L 1963-02-24 30Los Mochis,Mexico MLB1986-20091993-1994
1985-   UDFA-PIT