Please SUPPORT US by putting your name on the SUPPORT WALL.
Tips Updates
Minor Leagues
Extra Bases

Detroit Tigers Player of the YearHistory of Award Winners
Follow TBC on Twitter and Facebook

Justin Verlander won this award in 2011
Recent history of winners for Detroit Tigers Player of the Year. There is some lag in updating awards data and they may not provide an entire history of winners. The list below is separated by year with a dividing line. Some awards have multiple award winners for all or some years.

Years Available1998-2012

Awards Listing -- Awards Voting History -- Extra Bases Main -- Leagues -- About Awards Data

Major Leaguers are in bold

Historical Winners - Detroit Tigers Player of the Year

Top Major Leaguers Active Players Drafted Players 1st Round Draft Picks
YearPlayer NamePosNotesC-AwardsHt Wt B-T BornDate Age Place HiLvlStat YearsMLB YearsDraft InformationCollege(s)StatusCurrent Org (Level)
2012Miguel Cabrera3B466-2 218 R-R 1983-04-18 29Maracay,Venezuela MLB2000-20182003-2018
1999-   UDFA-FLO
DL-10Detroit Tigers (MLB)
2011Justin VerlanderP296-5 200 R-R 1983-02-20 28Manakin-Sabot,Virginia MLB2002-20182005-2018
2004- 1-   2-DET
Old Dominion U.ActiveHouston Astros (MLB)
2010Miguel Cabrera3B466-2 218 R-R 1983-04-18 27Maracay,Venezuela MLB2000-20182003-2018
1999-   UDFA-FLO
DL-10Detroit Tigers (MLB)
2009Justin VerlanderP296-5 200 R-R 1983-02-20 26Manakin-Sabot,Virginia MLB2002-20182005-2018
2004- 1-   2-DET
Old Dominion U.ActiveHouston Astros (MLB)
2008Miguel Cabrera3B466-2 218 R-R 1983-04-18 25Maracay,Venezuela MLB2000-20182003-2018
1999-   UDFA-FLO
DL-10Detroit Tigers (MLB)
2007Magglio OrdonezRF246-0 200 R-R 1974-01-28 33Caracas,Venezuela MLB1992-20111997-2011
1991-   UDFA-CHA
2006Carlos Guillen2B26-1 180 B-R 1975-09-30 30Maracay,Venezuela MLB1995-20111998-2011
1992-   UDFA-HOU
2005Placido Polanco3B105-10 168 R-R 1975-10-10 29Santo Domingo,Dom Rep MLB1994-20131998-2013
1994-19- 530-SLN
Miami-Dade ColFree Agent  
2004Ivan RodriguezC355-9 205 R-R 1971-11-30 32Vega Baja,Puerto Rico MLB1989-20111991-2011
1988-   UDFA-TEX
2003Dmitri YoungLF-1B86-2 235 B-R 1973-10-11 29Vicksburg,Mississippi MLB1991-20091996-2008
1991- 1-   4-SLN
2002Randall Simon1B36-0 230 L-L 1975-05-26 27Willemstad,Curacao MLB1993-20101997-2006
1992-   UDFA-ATL
2001Steve SparksP26-0 180 R-R 1965-07-02 35Tulsa,Oklahoma MLB1986-20041995-2004
1987- 5- 123-MIL
Sam Houston St  
2000Todd JonesP26-3 230 L-R 1968-04-24 32Marietta,Georgia MLB1987-20081993-2008
1989- 1-  27-HOU
Jacksonville St  
1999Dean Palmer3B56-1 210 R-R 1968-12-27 30Tallahassee,Florida MLB1986-20031989-2003
1986- 3-  59-TEX
1998Tony Clark1B66-7 245 B-R 1972-06-15 26Newton,Kansas MLB1990-20091995-2009
1990- 1-   2-DET
San Diego St, Arizona