Update:   College Baseball Program Listing -  Complete list of college programs from NCAA, NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and NWAACC.


Draft Research Tool - Filter through the draft data

The Baseball Amateur draft (Rule 4 Draft) was created in 1965 to promote relative fairness and parity among Major League franchises by creating an orderly method of distributing amateur players to teams in reverse order of the prior season's standings. Though there were originally several phases of the draft, it has been narrowed to one in-season draft in June which is held after the College and High School baseball seasons are complete or near completion. The draft is larger than other Pro sport drafts in terms of drafting rounds. There are currently 40 and in the past, teams could pick as many players as they liked under the draft-and-follow rules which meant that teams could have until the following season to sign their players based on their performance. Currently, teams must sign their players by mid-August.

Players are influenced to sign with their drafting team with signing bonuses that influence the player to turn pro. Unsigned High School players may turn to Junior or 4-year Colleges and College Juniors may return to college for their senior year if they choose not to sign, hoping to increase their bonus the following year. MLB provides a suggested bonus for each slot and teams are now provided with a bonus pool (similar to a salary cap) from which they can sign their players. Unsigned players go back into the draft for the following year.

To be eligible for the draft, a player must fit the following criteria:
  • Be a resident of the US, Canada or one of their territories.
  • Never signed a MLB or Minor League contract.
  • Be a high school player who has graduated and never attended college
  • Be a Junior at a 4-year college or at least 21 years of age.
  • Be a Junior College player in either his Freshman or Sophomore year

  • Find drafted players using the TBC Draft Research Tool

    Recent Draft History

    2014Brady AikenPhou
    2013Mark AppelPhou
    2012Carlos CorreaSShou
    2011Gerrit ColePpit
    2010Bryce HarperOFwan
    2009Stephen StrasburgRHPwan
    2008Tim BeckhamSStb
    2007David PricePtb
    2006Luke HochevarPkc
    2005Justin Uptonssari
    2004Matt BushSSsd
    2003Delmon YoungOFtb
    2002Bryan BullingtonPpit
    2001Joe MauerCmin
    2000Adrian Gonzalez1Bfla
    1999Josh HamiltonOFtb
    1998Pat Burrell1Bphi
    1997Matt AndersonPdet
    1996Kris BensonPpit
    1995Darin ErstadOFcal
    1994Paul WilsonPnym
    1993Alex RodriguezSSsea
    1992Phil Nevin3Bhou
    1991Brien TaylorPnyy
    1990Chipper JonesSSatl
    1989Ben McDonaldPbal
    1988Andy BenesPsd
    1987Ken GriffeyOFsea
    1986Jeff KingSS-3Bpit
    1985B.J. SurhoffSS-Cmil
    1984Shawn AbnerOFnym
    1983Tim BelcherPnyy
    1982Shawon DunstonSSchc
    1981Mike MoorePsea
    1980Darryl StrawberryOFnym
    1979Al ChambersOFsea
    1978Bob Horner3Batl
    1977Harold Baines1B-OFchw
    1976Floyd BannisterPhou
    1975Danny GoodwinCcal
    1974Bill AlmonSSsd
    1973David ClydePtex
    1972Dave Roberts3Bsd
    1971Danny GoodwinCcal
    1970Mike IvieCsd
    1969Jeff BurroughsOFwa2
    1968Tim FoliSSnym
    1967Ron Blomberg1Bnyy
    1966Steve ChilcottCnym
    1965Rick MondayOFkca

    About Us  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

    Boxscores data is obtained free of charge from Retrosheet.org.

    Please Support The Baseball Cube.