Page Notes  
Description of the data topic College World Series. This includes the definition as well as the coverage of the data topic or element on the site.
Get TBC PREMIUM and remove ads, cleaner display, access to research applications, data store discounts and more!
The TBC Newsletter will keep you periodically up-to-date on what is happening at The Baseball Cube.

College World Series

For the purpose of this site, the College World Series encompasses the entire 64-team NCAA I Baseball Tournament. The College World Series itself is the 8-team final phase of the NCAA tournament that takes place in Omaha,Nebraska in early June. The 1st phase of the tournament is called the Regionals where 64 teams are split into 16 groups of 4 across the country. The 16 winners of the mini 4-team tournaments then advanced to the Super-Regionals where 16 best-of-3 series occur. The 8 winners advanced to the CWS.

Selection for the tournament is based on 2 criteria. (1) The Conference Champion of each Division I conference (~30) get an automatic bid. This can be by winning their conference tournment or if no tournament, they finished first in the conference standings. (2) At-large teams are those schools deemed worthy by a selection committee based on season performance. The schools selected tend to be based on RPI rankings which favors schools in the top conferences. (SEC,ACC,BIG12,AAC,PAC12,BIG10)

TBC has complete CWS high-level details since 1947. This includes basically participation per round. The scores and results are not recorded but a team's full tournament history will be available for view regarding participation. Its more trivial than analyical. Other College Divisions have year-end tournaments as well but at this time, they are not tracked.